Check-In: Day 16

I think the biggest thing that doesn’t work about “dieting” is it doesn’t account for your regular, everyday life. That’s why MediFast didn’t work for me. Well, actually, it worked for me. It worked wonderfully, but once I was off it I went back to my same old bad habits and “diet” mindset. That’s one of the biggest things I’m trying to overcome this time. For instance, I had lunch plans with a fellow Marketing Coordinator of a different company here in town. We made plans to do this a little while ago for Portland Burger Week and I was actually considering cancelling today because I think we all know burgers don’t fit in to “diets”. But then I told myself “Self, this isn’t supposed to be a diet. You’re supposed to be able to maintain this way of eating (and thinking) FOREVER.” So I didn’t cancel! I went, I ate half of my burger, a handful of fries and I was done! I logged it, accounted for it, and will push myself extra hard in my class tonight to make up for it. Cause that’s the thing, isn’t it? Eating out and meeting colleagues for lunch in the beautiful Portland weather is FUN. And that’s ok. Our life shouldn’t revolve around eating, and that means with eating well too!Anyway, just wanted to share that little nugget of wisdom 🙂 Here’s what I ate yesterday: 

Breakfast (195 cals)

  • Egg, 1 (80 cals)
  • DKB Thin-sliced 21 Whole Grain Toast, 1 slice (60 cals)
  • Coffee, 2 cups (5 cals)
  • Half & Half, 1 tablespoon (20 cals)
  • Natural Cane Turbinado Sugar, 1 teaspoon (30 cals) 

Morning Snack (226 cals)

  • Whole Wheat Pancake, 1 (86 cals)
  • Chicken Sausage, 1 link (140 cals)

Lunch (100 cals)

  • Medifast Chocolate Shake, 1 (100 cals) 

Afternoon Snack (265 cals)

  • Bing Cherries, 1 cup (74 cals)
  • Sharp Cheddar Cheese, 21 grams (80 cals)
  • DKB Thin-sliced 21 Whole Grain Toast, 1 slice (60 cals)
  • Butter, ½ tablespoon (51 cals)

Dinner (525 cals)

  • Chipotle Carnitas Bowl, ½ bowl (345 cals)
  • IPA, 16 oz (180 cals) 

Activity (424 cals)

  • Running For Weightloss App, 41 minutes (424 cals) 

Caloric Counts for the day:

1,310 consumed

424 burned

Honestly, I forgot to add my lunch in yesterday which is why I went over the 1250 calorie goal I set for myself. If I would have known going into dinner that I was sitting at 785 calories for the day, I would have opted out of having a beer. But I didn’t log it, so I didn’t know! So lesson learned: LOG YOUR FOOD!

That’s my PSA for the day. I think I’ll just leave it at that.

Leave a Reply

