Check-In: Day 2

Using My Fitness Pal has been both great and a pain in the ass. I’m sure at first it’s annoying because you’re getting your frequently eaten foods set up and the scanner option really helps speed things along, but MAN! It feels like all I do all day is enter food into the app! It also yelled at me last night for not eating enough calories and it was going to punish me by not giving me a 5 week forecast or posting to my daily news feed. So I did what any normal human would do and had a square of dark chocolate! I realize I probably could have fudged a little of the numbers to get over the daily minimum amount but the chocolate sounded SOOO good and I’m not in this to lie to myself (or an app). Anyway, I ate it, loved it, and don’t at all regret it.

I also tried a low calorie, high protein ice cream last night! It’s a bad habit, I know, but we’ve gotten used to having a scoop or two of vanilla ice cream with chocolate chips after dinner and in this heat, I was looking for alternatives to keep that tradition alive. Mark stayed with his standard chocolate chips but I opted for some frozen dark cherries with a drizzle of local honey and it was great! It may not be an every night sort of situation but it’s nice to know that I can still enjoy the things I love, even when trying to watch calories.

Anyway, here’s what I ate yesterday:

Breakfast (135 cals)

  • Large Egg, 1 (80 cals)
  • Coffee, 2 cups (5 cals)
  • Coffee Creamer, 2 teaspoons (20 cals)
  • Natural Cane Turbinado Sugar, 2 teaspoons (30 cals)

Morning Snack (120 cals)

  • Chobani Strawberry Greek Yogurt, 5.3 oz (120 cals)

Lunch (100 cals)

  • Medifast Chocolate Shake, 1 (100 cals)

Afternoon Snack (173 cals)

  • Wasabi Almonds, 2/3 package (173 cals) 

Dinner (360 cals)

  • Grilled Chicken Breast, 1 (165 cals)
  • Rice with Butter, ¼ c (63 cals)
  • Heirloom Carrots Roasted with EVOO and Brown Sugar (132 cals)

Dessert! (174 cals)

  • Halo Top Creamery Vanilla Bean Ice Cream, .5 cup (60 cals)
  • Dark Sweet Frozen Cherries, 3 (18 cals)
  • Drizzle of Wildflower Honey (16 cals)
  • Ghiradelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate, 1 square (80 cals) 

Activity (479 cals)

  • NTC, 47 minutes (479 cals)


Caloric counts for the day:

1,062 consumed

479 burned

Overall, I’m feeling good about my first two days. I really feel like this is something I can keep up which is, obviously, the goal. I FINALLY went grocery shopping last night and armed myself with some yummy treats for today which I’m excited to tell you about tomorrow. So far so good!

Leave a Reply

