Let’s Get Physical 

I know they say that abs are made in the kitchen and I’ve heard percentages like 80% of weight loss is in what you eat, but I think staying active, at least for me, is just as important as the food I put into my body. I don’t have any scientific proof of that, but if there’s one thing I’ve learned over the years it’s that not everything works the same for everybody (or every body!). While obviously I’m keeping an eye on my caloric intake (see yesterday below!) I’m also putting a huge emphasis on my daily activity. Like I mentioned yesterday my goal is to be physically active at least 4 times a week. Prior to this (at least for the last several months) I’ve been pretty good about going to Orangetheory Fitness (which I’ll talk about in a later post probably) but two times a week just wasn’t cutting it. I thought today, I’d show you a few apps I downloaded to help me with staying active and my plan going forward. Some I’ve used before, most I haven’t, so I’m excited to try these new options to keep things interesting.

1. Biketown: Just last week, the City of Portland and Nike introduced a new bike sharing program called Biketown. This is one I haven’t used yet but I’m really excited to rent my first bike and go for a ride! I don’t see this as being something I get great cardio doing, but a nice 30 minute ride along the waterfront every now and then sounds just fine with me!

2. Running for Weight Loss: I downloaded this ages ago and have never used it! I don’t mind running like some people do. As a matter of fact, sometimes I even enjoy it! I imagine this is similar to the Couch to 5K program (which I’ve completed in the past) so I’m eager to see how this is different and if it’s something that will work for me. I’ll keep you posted!

3. NTC: NTC stands for Nike Training Club. I have several friends who work at Nike (one who even helped market and launch this app!) and they all rave about it. I haven’t used it yet, but it looks like a lot of weight training with some cardio mixed in. Weight training is something I’ve never been good at, but from what I’ve read helps boost your metabolism the most.

4. My Fitness Pal: While this isn’t an app to use while working out, I think this app will be used more than any of the others. I plan on tracking my food here as well as my workouts. If you’re so inclined, my user name is kellielynndavis. I’d love to connect and keep each other accountable if that’s something you’re into!

5. OT Beat: These last two are part of a studio I got to called Orangetheory. It is 60 minutes of high intensity circuit training. This app in particular is one that works with my heart rate monitor I got through OT. I really like it because I can use for any workout I do, even if it’s not at Orangetheory. For instance, I used it yesterday on my lunchtime walk! I’ll use this to keep track of calories burned during my workouts so it will definitely come in handy.

6. Orangetheory: This is really only used to book my classes at the studio, but I thought I’d throw it in as it’s definitely a fitness app I use regularly. I’ve been going to these classes for a few months now, and while I haven’t seen any results on the scale, I can definitely tell I’m getting stronger. I’m hoping with my commitment to healthy eating and mixing in a few different workouts throughout the week, I’ll be able to say soon that the scale reflects how I feel!

As far as apps go, that’s it for now! I also really enjoy yoga and have a great yoga dvd that kicks my ass for an hour so that will become part of my routine again. Also, a couple of friends at work and I were really dedicated to Cize (which is a Beachbody program) that was SO fun and right up my alley, so hopefully we can get some dancing time in as well.

I think the main thing I’m trying to avoid with all these options is boredom. I figure if I have some exciting new things to try, I’ll keep motivated to move!

So for all of you out there, what’s your favorite way to get those activity points in? Do you agree that physical activity is just as important as the food you put into your body? Obviously, I think it’s a combination of both, but I don’t think we should downplay the importance of getting a good sweat on!

Ok you beautiful people! Until tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

