Starting Over

Well hello there lovely internet. It’s been a while! How about we get reaquainted, shall we? Ok then!

I don’t think I’m going to bore you all by recapping the last three years or so since I’ve come to this space to share with you, so I’ll just jump right into it! I’m starting blogging again for one specific reason: to chronicle my never ending battle with my weight.

I think it’s pretty serendipitous that the last thing I posted was about this very same subject, but boy was I in a different space then than I am now.

Four years ago, I lost 80 pounds with a combination of Weight Watchers and Medifast. I was at my lowest weight I’d been in as long as I could remember. I was HAPPY!

Fast forward to today and I’ve gained 50 pounds back. That’s a lot. That’s a whole lot. And initially I thought my reaction would be sadness and defeat and while there’s certainly a little bit of both of those things, I really am more determined than anything. It’s been a great three years of handmade pasta, weekends in Boston, pizza and beer, wine, and a LOT more, but I’ve shared all of that with the man I love and I’m not sure I’d take any of it back. I mean sure, I would love to be where I was three years ago weight-wise, but the last three years of my life I’ve lived fully and spontaneously, and you know what, sometimes that’s all you can ask for.

That being said, I’m really ready to be healthy again. My brother is getting married in a little less than 11 months and I want to be confident standing up there, not feeling self consciencious. And honestly, I’m not doing this just for the wedding. It’s a good excuse, for sure, but more than anything I’m ready to feel happy with myself again.

I’ve decided, even though it scares the hell out of me, to make these posts public. I’m not sure anyone even reads here anymore, which is fine because this is really for me, but if my experiences can help or encourage someone else then maybe, just maybe, this was all worth it.

I’m sure I’ll talk lots about my journey and what brought me to this point but I plan on doing the following here:

  1. Keeping track of what I eat. I think to start I’m going to try keeping track of my calories. I’d like to say I’m going to do this daily, and at first I’m sure I’ll be ok, but let’s be honest; that’s not a realistic goal. BUT, I do promise to do it more often than not.
  2. Keep track of my weight, no matter what. Weekly (let’s do Monday’s shall we?) I’ll post my progress, even if it goes up. There are definitely weeks where that will happen but if I DON’T post it, then the slippery slope slowly begins. You all know what I mean.
  3. Keep track of my workouts. My goal is to get activity in a minimum of four times a week. I’ll be posting what I did, the duration, and calories burned.
  4. Progress photos! I’m not sure if I should do this weekly or monthly. I think I’m leaning towards weekly as it will be fun to see the progress later on down the road. I guess we’ll just see what I’m in the mood for.

I’m sure there will be more like recipes and little motivations, but those 4 things are the keys I’d like to stick to.

So, here we go! My “before” photo. Super awesome work bathroom selfie, huh? 🙂

7.25.16

So who’s with me? If you’re reading here I’d love to know. Any encouragement we can give to each other will go such a long way in making this work. I’ve struggled with this all my life and I can tell you it’s easier when you have a tribe of like-minded people doing the same damn thing. Time to fist bump and kick this day right in the ass!

 

 

Leave a Reply

