Get Over Your Hill

I don’t have anything terribly important to say today, but I haven’t posted in a while and felt a yearning to write! I posted some song lyrics from Mumford & Sons on Facebook earlier. They go like this:

There will come a time, you’ll see with no more tears
And love will not break your heart but dismiss your fears
Get over your hill and see what you find there
With grace in your heart and flowers in your hair

This really speaks loudly to me today for some reason. The bit about getting over your hill, whatever that may be, and seeing the beauty that lies in front of you. It’s so easy to sit around and wallow in self pity about the things in your life you don’t like. So, get over your hill already! Plus, I’m soooo ready for summer and the image of dancing around in a field with a daisy chain in my hair sounds like heaven to me–barefoot, in a sun dress, where it’s perfectly warm and you can feel the sun baking into your bones. Yeah, I’m totally ready for that.

On a lighter note, I cooked my favorite soup ever for the third time last night. Make sure you check out my post about it if you missed it (or even if you didn’t. It’s awesome soup). I think the third time really is the charm because this was my best batch yet! I still can not get over how decadent this soup is–all from veggies! It’s unbelievable.

Also, my dog loves butternut squash, apparently. Raw butternut squash. Weirdo.

Anyway, I hope you all have an amazing Memorial Day weekend and at least take one moment to stop and remember what it really means. I think about my BIL (brother-in-law) a lot over this holiday but try to remember everyone who’s serving currently or has in the past for our country.

I’d also like to take a moment to wish my parents a happy 32nd anniversary (5/24), my baby brother (although not such a baby anymore!) a happy 26th birthday (5/26), and my beautiful sister a happy 28th birthday (5/28)! Whew!! So much to celebrate! Love you guys.

Here’s to a three day weekend!

PS: Here’s the M&S song from above. Take a listen.. it’s a good one.

Leave a Reply

