Podnahs Pit Barbecue

On a quest to discover hidden (to me) gems of Portland, we decided to try a barbecue place in Northeast called Podnahs. Armed with nothing but our GPS and a hunger deep in our belly, we set off across the bridge to Killingsworth for some sweet, sweet ‘cue.

I should start out by saying that I worked in a BBQ joint in NYC called Blue Smoke. Because of this, I hold pulled pork to an extremely high standard and none have ever come close to measuring up. Not only that, but they have some of the greatest banana cream pie I’ve ever tasted. If you’re in New York and find yourself on East 27th between Park & Lex, please do yourself a favor and stop by! This is a one of several restaurants owned by the venerable Danny Meyer. If you don’t know who he is, look him up. But I digress.

We sat ourself and were immediately greeted by a lovely lady with glorious pink hair who swiftly took our drink order. This is my one area of complaint. Their wine list left a little to be desired. I know what I like and when I order a glass of Pinot Gris, the last thing I want it to taste like is Chardonay (BLECH!). However, you know I ordered a glass anyway and you know I drank the whole thing!

The menu is small but distinguished. They had the regular BBQ heavy hitters as well as unique things like trout and lamb. Here’s what we ordered:

Their famous Frito Pie. They’re known for several things at Podnahs but we were told this was a must try. I was even served in a Frito bag!

We went into this experience wanting to try the things they were known for, so in that respect I’m glad we tried this. I probably wouldn’t order it again however. It was good but I would rather save the calories for something else. We didn’t have a problem finishing it though:

Brian’s Pulled Pork Platter which came with cornbread and a choice of two sides. We chose the mac & cheese and roasted cauliflower au gratin.

Ohmygod this was all SO GOOD. The pulled pork was not as good as Blue Smoke, but it was still delicious. The mac and cheese was cheesy-goodness and the cauliflower was perfectly cooked and seasoned. I don’t have to tell you that the corn bread was yum because, well, it was.

The other platter we ordered was the St. Helens Brisket with collard greens & cole slaw.

I thought the brisket was great although mom said it was a little dry. I wasn’t a huge collard greens fan, but dad said it was the second best he’d ever had, if you’re into that sort of thing.

Last but not least, I believe it is impossible and morally wrong to give a restaurant review without sampling a dessert. Enter the pecan pie:

This was obviously home made crust and the pecans were very coarsely chopped which was nice. It also had some ‘cold whoop’ on top which wasn’t too sweet and was the perfect compliment to the pie.

We hated everything:

All in all, it was an extremely good restaurant that I would certainly recommend and go back to. Here are my rankings:

Atmosphere: 4 (tiny bit cold)
Wine List: 2
Service: 5
Food: 5
Location: 3

2 responses to “Podnahs Pit Barbecue

Leave a Reply

