Soup-er Super Bowl

Image Courtesy of Tasty Yummies

I can’t believe I’ve never talked about it on here before, but I was told by my doctor back in September that I needed to cut out gluten and dairy from my diet. I’ve been pretty successful, only falling off the wagon around Christmastime. Thanks to some helpful friends and websites, it’s been relativity easy to figure out things to eat. The hardest part is when I go somewhere I don’t always know what kind of food they’ll have. My friends and family have been extremely supportive of my new dietary restrictions and always prepare things I can eat.

For the Super Bowl, I thought I’d help out by bringing something we could all enjoy, but also retain the ability to have complete control of what went into the dish. Enter one of my new favorite blogs for all things vegan and gluten free Tasty Yummies. A friend turned me on to this treasure trove of gf/df (that’s gluten-free/dairy-free for all you ‘normal’ eaters out there) friendly recipes that I just couldn’t wait to try. On top of that, Beth (the blogs owner) is a fellow graphic designer, so how could I not try out one of these aptly named ‘tasty yummies’?

There were several recipes on her blog that would have been perfect for the Super Bowl, but the one that called to me loudest was the Butternut Squash and Roasted Red Pepper Soup.

Oh. My. Gosh. This was honestly some of the best soup I’ve ever had. Follow the link for the recipe. Here are some photos I took of the process, although I forgot to continue taking them half way through!

The only thing I did different from the recipe was I omitted making a separate red pepper puree and just put the ingredients right into the soup. I figured it would be easier for travel purposes and also simpler for people to serve themselves.

Sadly, no one tried my fabulous soup at the party, but that just left more for me! And the very best part of this soup is it’s made entirely out of vegetables!! Super duper healthy.

I hope you all go visit Tasty Yummies and try out some of Beth’s amazing creations. I think my next yummie will be her No-Bake Oatmeal Chia Chocolate Chip Cookie Balls!! No bake!? Sign me up!!

Thanks Beth for letting me feature your recipe and use your delicious photo on my blog!

2 responses to “Soup-er Super Bowl

  1. Mmmm, I would have eaten it!! Not a combo I would have thought of, but sounds AMAZING!

  2. Pingback: Get Over Your Hill « ABOUT A GIRL

Leave a Reply

