Handmade Passport Covers

I was lucky enough to have some time this holiday season to be able to hand make a lot of my gifts for friends and family. I’m so excited to finally be posting the first one! Here’s a teaser picture, but make sure you click the link to read all about it after the jump!

One of my very favorite families is going to Paris this summer (I know, I’m jealous too) and I originally was going to buy one of them a passport cover for Christmas. Then, I came across this tutorial for making your own. I thought it would be really great to make them all hand-sewn leather passport covers for their trip instead of just buying one!

So, with the tutorial bookmarked on my trusty iPad, I went to the fabric store to find my materials and get started.

*Bare with me as I take a little side note here, but I have learned over the years that making a dummy (a first draft, one you don’t care if you mess up) is always a good idea. I didn’t do that with one of my other Christmas gifts this year which I’ll get to in another post, but luckily I did with the passport covers. Just a word of wisdom. Now back to the story.

I should have know that they weren’t going to carry many leather supplies at my local Joann’s but I thought I’d start there anyway. I made my way to the upholstery section thinking maybe I could find some leather there, but no such luck. Maybe it’s common knowledge that they don’t sell real leather there or maybe I’m just nieve, but i was disappointed when all i could find was a plastic leather look-a-like. I also didn’t know that even fake leather isn’t cheap! I ended up getting a quarter yard for $17.50. After picking up some rubber cement. giant needles and the thickest thread I could find I was excited to get started–except for one thing; I had cheap expensive plastic vinyl leather, and if you know me at all, you will know that this just wouldn’t do. So I did what I should have done in the first place: I googled ‘where to buy leather in Portland’.

That’s when I found Tandy Leather Factory. I wasn’t sure what to expect from a shop like this, but when I walked in, the wave of leather smell washed over me and I didn’t even know where to begin. There were hides EVERYWHERE! Some had the hair still on, some were dyed beautiful, rich colors, some were patent and some were suede. I got a steal of a deal on some perfect leather and also loaded up on actual leather crafting supplies.

To top it off, I found some vintage Parisian postcard images on google and made little cards to give to them with their gift. They all loved them, but I think I loved making (and giving) them even more.

Anyway, I’m obsessed with making these. I think they could look so cute with colored or metallic thread and a friend even suggested embroidered initials! You also don’t even need to use leather if you don’t want to bother or are against the practice. The possibilities are endless. See below for more photos. I’d love to know if you try this out!

3 responses to “Handmade Passport Covers

  1. Awesome!!! Gonna try n update u! Thx!! 🙂

  2. holly

    i LOVE my passport cover!! i LOVE you, too!!!!! you’re so crafty and amazing!!!!! xoxoxo

  3. Wow! Very creative and simple passport covers design yet its compiling. Keep on sharing!

Leave a Reply

