A Porch of Many Colors

First off, keeping up a blog is hard! For all of you out there who religiously update their blog daily, I don’t know how you do it! It could seriously be a full time job, and since I already have one of those, this poor blog has been feeling a little neglected. I’ve been busily working away on several projects this summer, but I could’t go much further with the porch renovation without sharing this with you.

This weekend, my dad sanded down the porch. I really wish I took a before picture and can’t believe I didn’t remember to do it! Believe me when I tell you that the wood on the porch was looking a little sad. After a 4 hour sander rental from Home Depot, the wood looks amazing!! Actually, seeing it like this sort of changed our inspiration a bit.

If you remember my last post, you’ll know that we were originally going to paint the porch to resemble that beautiful New England style, but after the sander gave this wood new life, I think we’re just going to stain it and keep some of the lovely wood characteristics. Thanks to my trusty Photoshop, I’ve compiled a small visual sampling of what colors we’re thinking of staining and would love some feedback! So without further adieu, here are the initial selections:

 


Medium Brown

 


Grey

 


Dark Brown

 


Blue/Grey

My parent’s house is kind of a big beige blob, so we want something that will really pop on the porch. As you can see we’re also planning on adding some white accents to break up the beige/browns and freshen things up. What do you guys think of these choices? Which is your favorite? I can’t wait to hear what you all think.

Kellie

 

6 responses to “A Porch of Many Colors

  1. marshad17@aol.com

    Kel, what a fantastic job! You completely sold Dad on the white columns! We are not “in-love” with any of the colors yet! I like the dark brow the best but I’m concerned the porch furniture will just blend right in. Maybe we can try some other colors too! Anyway, thanks for the work you did and I love your blog!

  2. marshad17@aol.com

    P.S. I love the way you write. HMMMMM…maybe a future in journalism???

  3. Well your mom already stole my thunder. You Photoshop convinced me of the white battered columns and balustrades. And I think it has helped in knowing what we DON’T want the floor to be. As i look at the decking, at first none of them grabbed me, but I am leaning towards the light grey…just not sure yet.

    What a great tool however, and what a great craftsman behind the tool.

    Thanks

  4. sunshine :)

    I love the medium or the dark brown.. it adds a nice warmth to the area… the others are so “normal” that you kind of glance over them. The dark warm tones make it an area itself! Can’t wait to see more!!!

Leave a Reply

