Porch Love

One of my biggest regrets while living in New York was not taking the time to travel around and visit all the cities that were so close to me: DC, Philadelphia, all of New England. They were all just a train ride away and yet–with the exception of going to Atlantic City–I never made it out of NYC proper. Of all the places on the East coast I wanted to visit, Boston was always at the top of my list. It wasn’t until two years after moving back to Portland that I made it out to that amazing city. As some of you may know, my brother is going to law school in Boston and our family took a trip out there for Thanksgiving to visit. It was all around a great trip and there were so many amazing things to see, but one thing I really took away with me was the amazing porches these New Englanders have! One night we decided to walk to the house where JFK grew up. As we were walking down the street, the porches these beautiful houses had were so wonderful and looked cozy–even on a chilly November night. I remember my mom and I talking about how great it would be to update their porch in a similar style.

Ever since, I have been on the hunt for inspiring porches. I have collected a few here, but there are so many beautiful outdoor seating spaces that I’m feeling overwhelmed with ideas! This weekend, Mom and I are going to start the process of decorating their porch. Don’t worry.. our progress will be posted here for you all to enjoy. In the mean time, here are a collection of pictures I am using as inspiration. I hope you enjoy them as much as I do!

In the first picture above, I love the painted floor and am hoping to do something similar at Mom & Dads. I also love the color pallet and ‘sun room’ feel and think it would be great to get some screens for their porch, but that may be a little out of our league installation (and budget!) wise.

I do love a good porch swing, and love this dark painted floor. We’ll have to see what color will go best at their place. I think it might even be nice to go with a splash of bold color, but we’ll have to see what they’ll go for.

Another screened in porch. I love the combination of painted and raw wood here, as well as the light yellows and fuchsias. Also, I really enjoy those light fixtures–they’re masculine and functional and play nicely off the feminine florals and light colors.

Ok, I know this isn’t a porch, but I die for those chairs!! Those would look amazing for outside seating!

This one is nice in the fact that it’s simple. I think the orange splashes against that medium grey wood are awesome. Also, this shows a treatment to the ceiling, which I definitely want to do, althought I was thinking more along the lines of a dark wainscoting or a wood veneer. So many homes in Boston had a nice finished wood ceiling and I think it pulled the whole space together so nicely.

How wonderful is this space? I love the grown-up bean bag chair! It would be so fun to plop down on that thing on a wonderful Portland Summer night. I’m not sure how well it would hold up in Oregon throughout the rest of the year, but who knows?? Also, the turquoise and red elements are lovely.

This is a HUGE porch! We’re not going to have nearly this amount of space to work in, but I love the pendant light that they’ve hung. It gives such a nice feel to an area that is sometimes forgotten. Also, this is the wood ceiling I mentioned earlier.

All in all, I think our redesign is going to be so fun! This is going to be my first big ‘renovation’ project and I can’t wait to get started. This weekend is supposed to be nice, so here’s hoping! I can’t wait to show you all the progress. Stay tuned!

Kellie

3 responses to “Porch Love

  1. Sunshine

    I totally want to know how this goes, and what you find works for their space! Possibly next summer, Rich and I have been talking about making an outdoor living room! Full with TV and video games, etc 🙂 (as you can imagine) 🙂 might have to have you over to bounce ideas off of! Oh, including a hot tub too! I like your parents space now, so it’ll be fun to see what you end up doing, and how you do flooring too! I love the color ideas there, but yeah, how will it hold up in Oregon? Before, during and after photos please!!! 🙂

  2. Pingback: A Porch of Many Colors «

Leave a Reply

