This Is My Anthem

I don’t know about you, but I am a sucker for a catchy song. Add some Chris Martin, a good healthy dose of kick drum and a sprinkle of synthesizer and you’ve got yourself a recipe for ‘Kellie’s Summer Anthem’. Three years ago, said anthem was most certainly ‘Viva la Vida’. After recently organizing my iPod, I realized I had listened to that track over 200 times– that’s 14 hours of unadulterated Coldplay action. Now, after downloading their newest single, I have a feeling that ‘Every Teardrop is a Waterfall’ will certainly make it’s way up the ‘most played’ ranks. If this weekend is any indication (a friend and I listened to it on repeat for a good portion of a 3 hour drive to central Oregon) it’s off to a great start.

Any song that makes me literally do fist pumps while sitting at my desk at work (in full view of the occupied conference room next door) is a winner in my book. I love this song because it’s a new sound for Coldplay. There are definitely dance influences along with some 80’s nightclub thrown in. According to WikiColdplay:

Chris was inspired to write the song after watching the film Biutiful by Alejandro Gonzalez. In the film, there is a nightclub scene – during which a track is playing in the background, based on I Go To Rio by Peter Allen and Adrienne Anderson. As a result, Allen and Anderson are also credited as writers on Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall.

Gotta love giving credit where credit is due.

Now, for those of you that like real depth to your music, this probably isn’t going to satisfy that. There’s really no deep meaning to the lyrics, but that’s just fine with me. If you’re looking for a song you can listen to with the windows down and summer breeze blowing through your hair, you should really check out this song. Find it on iTunes here.

Kellie

2 responses to “This Is My Anthem

  1. Absolutely LOVE Coldplay! Really enjoyed this post! 🙂

  2. Sunshine

    FIST PUMP ACTION BABY!!!! That was an awesome ride! Hopefully again sometime this summer friend!

Leave a Reply

