Necklaces on Display

I have some really pretty jewelry, but as much as I want to, I just don’t wear it all that often. Before, my necklaces were in a box getting tangled and collecting dust, but after this little project I did one evening, they are on display as a functional wall hanging. I’ll admit, a jewelry organizer is not a new concept, but I saw a DIY version on one of my favorite blogs and decided to try it out! Unfortunately, I didn’t take any before and after pictures, but I think you’ll be able to imagine what this drawer looked like sitting on the shelf of at the thrift.

The hardest part of this project is finding the piece you’re going to use! This one I just happened upon one day at Goodwill (there were two of these babies, and on the day I bought it, they were half off. I still kick myself for not picking up the second one) but when my sister asked for one for her birthday, it took me forever to find one suitable to use. My mom and are are avid Goodwill goers and we looked for at least a month until she found this beauty sitting mingled in the wood section (please pardon the crappy cell phone photos):

This project took considerably longer than mine, since I had to sand, paint, remove, glue and drill to get it done. I don’t have the after pictures with me, but I promise I’ll post them a little later. For now, here are a couple of progress shots for you to enjoy!

In the end, I regret taking all the paint off the front of the drawers. I didn’t realize underneath the paint was metal that would get horribly scratched by the sand paper. Putting on a few coats of paint helped a little, but the majority of the scratches showed through. Live and learn I guess. I also bought some beautiful drawer pulls from Anthropolgie and I think the final product turned out pretty nice. I was also planning on lining the drawers with a vibrant color of velvet and making some ring holders in one, but her birthday crept up on me this year and I didn’t get a chance to try. Maybe I’ll borrow the drawers from her some time and finish it.

Anyway, this is such a fun and easy way to display jewelry. It just goes to show how a little creative vision and a lot of hard work can really pay off. You’ll have a one-of-a-kind piece that has way more character than anything you’ll buy in the store and you’ll be able to say you made it yourslef.

Kellie

Leave a Reply

