The Ballerina Project

If I could be any type of dancer, I think I would be a ballerina. Not only does the name alone evoke images of poise and grace, but the fluid movements and beautiful costumes make being a ballerina any little (or big) girl’s dream. Alas, I have been cursed with flat feet and just the right mix of laziness and inflexibility making this wanna be ballerina sitting in the auditorium seats during the annual production of The Nutcracker.

Wandering around the internet one day, I stumbled upon The Ballerina Project on Facebook. After doing a quick google search, I found the blog*, but It didn’t contain very much information about the author or the project itself. From what I can tell, there is a photographer (or a group of photographers) in New York City and Boston taking pictures of ballerinas in urban situations. What I love most about these pictures is the juxtaposition of the beautiful, graceful dancer against a (sometimes) gritty, dirty background. I also think it’s incredible how the dancer seems to become a part of the landscape, like a sculpture or piece of art.

These are just a few images for you, but if you want to see more (there are literally hundreds more where this came from) either go to the blog or their facebook page and check them all out. Some of these pieces are actually for sale, so hop on over and pick one up for your very own.

Kellie

*Since this post, the artist behind the Ballerina Project has started a new blog which is beautiful and so much more informative than the previous one. Check it out here.

One response to “The Ballerina Project

  1. marshad17@aol.com

    Wow! I love these pictures! I too would love to be a ballerina but because of my age, my back, my eyesight and my bulging stomach, I think I should stick to line dancing. Love your blog. You are great writer!

Leave a Reply

